Turkish Delight

Most Importantly – The True Costs:

We are keen to be as transparent as possible with our Rallies as they are not a ‘cheap break’. Below is an itemised list of the other costs involved:

Registration – £395 
The Car – From £250 plus pimping
Insurance – Approx £35 per person based on specific Banger Rally insurance
European breakdown cover – Optional (but recommended at approx. £40)
Crossing the Channel
Ferries are typically available for approx. £50,
Channel tunnel prices start from £55.
Hotels
We will provide recommendations in due course and will offer our usual Hotel & Ferry Packages. We typically use hotels which will cost £25-30 per person per night.
Fuel costs
This will vary wildly depending on your chosen vehicle but 2,350 miles at an average 40mpg = 60 gallons/ 270 litres
As of 15th March 2015:

France (435 miles) – Diesel €1.20 /Petrol €1.39 = €58/€68
Switzerland (190 miles) – Diesel €1.37 /Petrol €1.39 = €29/€29
Italy (360 miles) – Diesel €1.42 /Petrol €1.51 = €56/€61
Croatia (540 miles) – Diesel €1.27 /Petrol €1.36 = €77/€82
Albania (230 miles) – Diesel €1.25 /Petrol €1.25 = €32/€32
Greece (400 miles) – Diesel €1.25 /Petrol €1.58 = €56/€71
Turkey (195 miles) – Diesel €1.33 /Petrol €1.56 = €29/€34
Total Fuel Costs (average) = Diesel €337/ Petrol €377

Tolls – there are a number of tolls when using Motorways and you will be looking at around £100 in total, however you can get away without going on the tolls, the routes just take longer!
Flights home
Flights are available back to most UK Cities from Thessaloniki. In 2015 teams were able to book flights for as little as £65 to London with Ryanair and £94 to Manchester with SAS.

What does all this mean?

For a team of 4: Costs approx. £675 per person (excluding food and drink)
For a team of 3: Costs approx. £765 per person (excluding food and drink)
For a team of 2: Costs approx. £950 per person (excluding food and drink)

Here are some useful links to sort out your whole trip…

Hotel Recommendations

As for our all our events we have a supported package to take away all the hassle of organising this yourself. The price is based on cost price plus a 20% admin fee and includes all 8 hotels (see below) and the Channel Ferry on Friday 9th September. As an indication, the 2015 prices were as follows and we don’t expect them to change a great deal;

Costs per team of two: £575
Costs per team of four: £1100
*Costs for a team of three: On request (some hotels do not offer triple rooms so this would be a bespoke booking.

If you are happy to do things on your own here is a list of hotels in each destination. The highlighted hotel in each case is where we will be staying with all those who book the package, but you can of course stay wherever you wish, on the list or not.

REIMS

***Hotel Bristol; http://www.bristol-reims.fr/index.php
Grand Hotel du Nord; http://hotel-nord-reims.com-index.php
Ardenn Hotel; http://www.ardennhotel.fr/uk-index.php
Hotel Azur; http://www.hotel-azur-reims.com/en-index.php
Hotel Crystal; http://www.hotel-crystal.fr/uk/index.php
Best Western Hotel De La Paix; http://www.bestwestern-lapaix-reims.com/uk/index.php

ZURICH

***St Georges***; http://www.hotel-st-georges.ch/e_hotel.html
Ibis Budget Zurich City West; http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-3184-ibis-budget-zurich-city-west/index.shtml
easyHotel Zurich; http://www.easyhotel.com/hotels/switzerland/zuerich/

Note: These hotels are not particularly close together but represent the best value we can find in an expensive city.

LAKE GARDA

***Hotel Eden***; http://www.hoteledensalo.com/
Hotel Commercio; http://www.hotelcommercio.com/en/hotel-a-salo.html
Hotel Terrazzo; http://www.hotelterrazzo.it/hotelsalo.php/p-6/English.htm
Hotel Duomo Salo; http://www.hotelduomosalo.it/en

TRIESTE

***Urban Hotel Design***; http://www.urbanhotel.it/en/
Albergo alla Posta; http://www.albergopostatrieste.it/en/
Nuovo Albergo Centro; http://hotelcentrotrieste.it/en/the-hotel
Hotel Colombia; http://www.hotelcolombia.it/
Hotel James Joyce; http://www.hoteljamesjoyce.com/en/

DUBROVNIK

Villa Klaic; http://villaklaic-dubrovnik.com/
Rooms Raic;
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g295371-d3168185-Reviews-s1-Rooms_Raic-Dubrovnik_Dubrovnik_Neretva_County_Dalmatia.html
S&L Guesthouse; http://www.dubrovnikguesthousesl.com/index.html

Accommodation in Dubrovnik is typically small B&Bs and guesthouses, and as such it may not be possible for everyone to stay in the same place.

SARANDE

***Hotel New Heaven***; http://www.hotelnewheaven.com/template.php?pag=52020
Hotel Nertili; http://www.hotelnertili.com/template.php?pag=53989
Hotel Brilant; http://www.brilanthotel.com/
Hotel Porto Eda; http://www.portoeda.com/

THESSALONIKI

***Royal Hotel***; http://www.royal-hotel.gr/
Golden Star Hotel; http://www.goldenstarhotel.com/en
Perea Hotel;
http://www.perea-hotel.gr/portal.php?action=hotel_thessaloniki_airport_hotel_perea_thessaloniki_hotel_thessaloniki_hotels_thesaloniki_homepage&language=US

ISTANBUL

***Harmony Hotel***; http://www.istanbulharmony.com/
Berce Hote; http://www.bercehotel.com/en-US/Default.aspx?c=1
Divalis Hotel; http://divalishotel.com/#
Garden House Istanbul; http://www.gardenhouseistanbul.com/

Finding a Car

There are literally hundreds of cars out there within budget, many coming with Tax & MOT for the Rally! Try the following website links, or check your local garages for trade in’s and local auctions. We will be publishing deals of the day on Twitter and Facebook as departure day approaches…

www.ebay.co.uk

www.autotrader.co.uk

www.gumtree.com

Fuel Costs

http://www.fuel-prices-europe.info/

Banger Rally Insurance

Our friends at Herts can provide insurance specific for Banger Rallies…

www.hertsinsurance.com

European Breakdown Cover

Breakdown cover is optional but recommended as there will be no mechanical support available. We will not leave you stranded but may not be able to assist with your car. This is of course your responsibility to dispose of legally.

www.theaa.com

www.rac.co.uk

www.greenflag.com

Getting across the Channel

Ferries

www.poferries.com

www.norfolkline.com

www.ferryoffers.co.uk

www.cheapferry.co.uk

www.directferries.co.uk

www.ferrysavers.co.uk

Tunnel

www.eurotunnel.com

European Driving

www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/overseas/countrybycountry.html

Charity:

We strongly encourage fundraising and are currently affiliated with the following Charities. You can of course raise money for any Charity of your choice. You can use www.justgiving.com, an easy way to manage your donations/sponsors.

http://www.coch.nhs.uk/fundraising/babygrow-appeal.aspx

http://www.clicsargent.org.uk/

http://www.stoswaldsuk.org/

http://www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk/events

http://www.blesma.org/

http://www.beatingbowelcancer.org/

http://www.st-gemma.co.uk/global?page_id=7361

http://www.butterwick.org.uk/whatyoucando/fundraising/event_pages

http://www.hospiceofthegoodshepherd.com/

http://www.edwardstrust.org.uk/

http://www.restore.org.uk/

http://www.epilepsyresearch.org.uk/

Getting Home:

You can of course drive but most likely you’ll want to fly!

Check www.skyscanner.net as many destinations are available.