Northern Lights

Most Importantly – The True Costs:

We are keen to be as transparent as possible with our Rallies as they are not a ‘cheap break’. Below is an itemised list of the other costs involved:

Registration – £495

The Car – From £250 plus pimping

Insurance – Approx £35 per person based on specific Banger Rally insurance

European breakdown cover – Optional (but recommended at approx. £30)

Crossing the Channel – Dover to Dunkirk
Ferries are typically available for approx. £50
Channel tunnel £55.

Hotels
Please see our recommendations below, and indeed our Packages which include all hotels plus the two main ferries.
The destinations on this route attract unavoidable higher hotel prices, often due to their more remote locations, and as a result will cost approx £60 per person per night.

Hirtshals (Denmark) to Larvik (Norway) Ferry
A one way trip on this ferry will cost between £95 with two passengers and £120 with four.

Fuel costs – This will vary wildly depending on your chosen vehicle but 1865 miles at an average 40mpg = 47 gallons/ 210 litres
As of February 2019:
France/Netherlands (250 miles)
Diesel is €1.55/l = €44 or £39
Petrol is €1.44/l = €40 or £35
Denmark (600 miles)
Diesel is DKK 10.79/l = £85
Petrol is DKK 11.79/l = £93
Norway (1040 miles)
Diesel is NOK 15.73/l = £165
Petrol is NOK 15.93/l = £167
Total
Diesel = £289
Petrol = £295

Tolls – there are a number of tolls on this route particularly in Norway where the use of bridges and short ferries are required. You will be looking at around £150 in total for tolls.

Flights home
Flights are available back to most UK Cities from Bodo and Trodheim, starting as low as £60 per person.

What does all this mean then?

For a team of 2: Costs approx. £1075 per person (excluding food and drink)
For a team of 4: Costs approx. £800 per person (excluding food and drink)

Hotel Recommendations

As we do on all of our routes, we have a Hotel & Ferry package for Northern Lights 2019, which includes a hotel in each of the 6 stopovers, based on the highlighted hotels below, as well as the ferry across the Channel and the ferry between Denmark and Norway. This is now available to book by contacting us directly.

Costs for the Hotel & Ferry Package 2019;

Team of two: £920 (£460.00 per person)
Team of Four: £1660 (£415.00 per person)
*Team of Three: Many hotels do not offer triple rooms so you should base costs on a team of four. We will of course do our best to find savings where we can.

If you are happy to do things on your own here is a list of hotels in each destination. The highlighted hotel in each case is where we will be staying along with those who book the package, but you can of course stay wherever you wish, on the list or not.

AMSTERDAM

***Leonardo Royal Hotel Amsterdam; https://www.leonardo-hotels.com/leonardo-royal-hotel-amsterdam

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City South; https://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-1244-mercure-hotel-amsterdam-city/index.shtml#origin=mercure

Novotel Amsterdam City; https://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-0515-novotel-amsterdam-city/index.shtml#origin=novotel

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South; https://www.crowneplaza.com/hotels/gb/en/amsterdam/amspc/hoteldetail?newRedirect=true&qSrt=sBR&qIta=99615493&icdv=99615493&glat=SEAR&qSlH=AMSPC&setPMCookies=true&qDest=George%20Gershwinlaan%20101,%20Amsterdam,%20NL&dp=true&msclkid=c7a5f39ffde41e417ed7aff75be9fc83&cid=128912&srb_u=1

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost; https://www.aohostels.com/en/amsterdam/amsterdam-zuidoost/

Qbic Hotel WTC Amsterdam; https://qbichotels.com/amsterdam-wtc/

LARVIK

***Holms Motel; http://www.holmsmotell.no/

Trudvang Gjestegaard; http://trudvang.no/

Torp Hotel; https://torphotel.no/en/

INNVIK/GRODAS

***Havila Hotel Raftevold; 

Innvik Fjordhotell; http://www.innvikfjordhotell.no/

***Please note that this area is perticularly remote with few places to stay, bars or restaurants so will need to be self sufficient. These hotels are 45 minutes apart so it is important that we do our best to stay together.

TRONDHEIM

***City Living Sentrum Hotel; https://www.cityliving.no/city_living_sentrum.html

Comfort Hotel Trondheim; https://www.nordicchoicehotels.com/hotels/norway/trondheim/comfort-hotel-trondheim/

Thon Hotel Trondheim; https://www.thonhotels.com/our-hotels/norway/trondheim/thon-hotel-trondheim/

City Living Schøller Hotel; https://www.cityliving.no/city_living_scholler.html

MO-I-RANA

***Toranes Overnatting;

Babettes Hotell;

Scandic Meyergarden; https://www.scandichotels.com/hotels/norway/mo-i-rana/meyergarden

Hotel Svartisen; http://www.hotelsvartisen.no/

Comfort Hotel Ole Tobias; https://www.nordicchoicehotels.no/Comfort/Comfort-Hotel-Ole-Tobias/

BODO

***Scandic Havet; https://www.scandichotels.no/hotell/norge/bodo/scandic-havet

Scandic Bodø; https://www.scandichotels.no/hotell/norge/bodo/scandic-bodo

Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo; https://www.radissonblu.com/en/hotel-bodo?facilitator=BIGMOUTHMEDIAREZIDOR&csref=PPC_M__CR__UK_HO_BOOZH_Brand_EN_be_Search_c&mkwid=p8w4y9P4_dc&pcrid=75110418144471&pkw=Bodo%20radisson%20blu&pmt=be&msclkid=78bfab6f18bd1638c7f8f707b712b406&utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=MS_UK_Brand_Bodo_BOOZH_NONLOCAL_NONGEO_EN_Exact&utm_term=Bodo%20radisson%20blu&utm_content=Core_Radisson%20Blu_Bodo

Finding a Car

There are literally hundreds of cars out there within budget, many coming with MOT for the Rally! Try the following website links, or check your local garages for trade in’s and local auctions…

www.ebay.co.uk

www.autotrader.co.uk

www.gumtree.com

Fuel Costs

http://www.fuel-prices-europe.info/

Banger Rally Insurance

Our friends at Herts can provide insurance specific for Banger Rallies…

www.hertsinsurance.com

European Breakdown Cover

Breakdown cover is optional but recommended as there will be no mechanical support available. We will not leave you stranded but may not be able to assist with your car. This is of course your responsibility to dispose of legally.

www.theaa.com

www.rac.co.uk

www.greenflag.com

www.moneysupermarket.com/breakdown-cover

Getting across the Channel

Ferries

www.directferries.co.uk

Tunnel

www.eurotunnel.com

European Driving

www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/overseas/countrybycountry.html

Hirtshals to Larvik Ferry:

http://www.directferries.co.uk/hirtshals_larvik_ferry.htm

https://www.aferry.co.uk/color-line-ferry-uk.htm?utm_source=Bing-PPC&utm_medium=PPC&utm_campaign=Bing-PPC-AFerry-UK-OPERATORS

Charity:

We strongly encourage fundraising and are currently affiliated with the following Charities. You can of course raise money for any Charity of your choice. You can use www.justgiving.com, an easy way to manage your donations/sponsors.

http://www.coch.nhs.uk/fundraising/babygrow-appeal.aspx

http://www.clicsargent.org.uk/

http://www.stoswaldsuk.org/

http://www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk/events

http://www.blesma.org/

http://www.beatingbowelcancer.org/

http://www.st-gemma.co.uk/global?page_id=7361

http://www.butterwick.org.uk/whatyoucando/fundraising/event_pages

http://www.hospiceofthegoodshepherd.com/

http://www.edwardstrust.org.uk/

http://www.restore.org.uk/

http://www.epilepsyresearch.org.uk/

Getting Home:

You can of course drive but most likely you’ll want to fly!

Check www.skyscanner.net as many destinations are available.